Satoshi Kamiya Design Technique

General discussion about Origami, Papers, Diagramming, ...
Justinorigami

Satoshi Kamiya Design Technique

Post by Justinorigami »

Hi,
I am not very experienced with non boxpleated origami design, and marvel at the works of Satoshi Kamiya. How does he achieve such elegant crease patterns? They seem to be free of all the nasty molecules (Gusset for example). Does anyone know what technique he uses to design?
Thank you,
Justin
Then one day you find, ten years have got behind you. No one told you when to run, you missed the starting gun. - Pink Floyd, Time
Kicker

Re: Satoshi Kamiya Design Technique

Post by Kicker »

Origami masters usually use a very large set of techniques mixed together.
The Phoenix 3.5, for example, is obviously box-pleated.
The Chocobo looks more like a bird base to which he grafted an extra square to make a big head.
Then he used the extra strips on the sides to make nice looking legs.
Justinorigami

Post by Justinorigami »

Is the phoenix boxpleated? I know there is a lot of sinking involved, but it doesn't seem to lie on a grid, nor use 40 degree angles. I know that most artists use multiple techniques, but his work has a distinct style to it.
Then one day you find, ten years have got behind you. No one told you when to run, you missed the starting gun. - Pink Floyd, Time
Kicker

Post by Kicker »

Well, I'd say the phoenix lies on a 36x36 grid .
Justinorigami

Post by Justinorigami »

Possibly.
I think we are getting off subject. :wink:
phillipcurl

Post by phillipcurl »

It isn't box pleated. It uses box-pleated and 22.5 molecules.