How to be more accurate?

General discussion about Origami, Papers, Diagramming, ...
Wuggums47

How to be more accurate?

Post by Wuggums47 »

I have been folding since I was five years old, but to this day, I'm still not perfect with folding. I'm far from being so sloppy that I can't finish complex models, but it seems that most of the time there is something wrong by a a few of milimeters or so, sometimes in more than one place. Sometimes the whole model can get thrown off if I make a mistake early on. The inaccuracies are more common in first attempts. Another problem is when folding with japanese foil. It seems with japanese foil, there is no way for me to fold it without some crumpling developing, especially if it's a model with many closed sinks and wraps, like Patricia Crawfords fully rigged ship. Is there some sort of special technique with foil that I don't know about? Also the last time I folded a Giang Dinh model, what I got was less of an adorable cat, and more of a cat-like blob monster. It's worth noting that I have a condition that effects fine motor skills, but I have been doing my best to not let it dictate what I can and can't do. I also Do micromaille chainmaille, and a lot of people would say that's impossible with hands as shaky as mine.
Be who you are, do things because you want to do them, and stop caring what others think. Then you'll be happy.
Baltorigamist

Re: How to be more accurate?

Post by Baltorigamist »

The best advice I can give is to simply take your time. Folding quickly will throw you off more than just about anything else.
Also, make sure the preliminary creases are as precise as possible. As has been said, a tiny mistake there throws everything off later on.

As far as the foil issue, just be careful when folding. It may help to unfold the model a bit to help with wraps and unsinks.
After the fall, we rise.

My Flickr
roodborst
Forum Sensei

Post by roodborst »