Getting Your Name "Out There"

General discussion about Origami, Papers, Diagramming, ...
Baltorigamist

Getting Your Name "Out There"

Post by Baltorigamist »

Any advice for becoming more well-known? I've gotten a few commissions recently, but I'm talking more about how to get published in a book or magazine such as Tanteidan. I feel like I'm a proficient enough designer to be published, but I'm not sure how to go about doing that. Is it as simple as submitting a model?
After the fall, we rise.

My Flickr
HankSimon
Buddha

Re: Getting Your Name "Out There"

Post by HankSimon »

Yes! That's all it takes. Submit your work to all the conventions and magazines that interest you. Be humble and gracious for any acknowledgment, feedback, and criticism. But, Quality is more important than complexity. At least at first. You want a model that is high quality, to highlight your attention to detail as an Artist. And, photographs will reflect that attention to detail. Finally, diagrams should be simple and clear, accessible to as many folders as is practicable.

You can also give back, by giving free presentations and lessons at local libraries, museums, and schools.

If you have a particularly interesting model, unique to you, then you can contact Origami Conventions and offer to teach it in a session. That will help spread your fame. Regardless, if you go to conventions, go around and ask other people about their families, background, models, and style. When you show interest in other people, your name spreads faster.

Then, you have to ask the question: Why do you want the fame?
bethnor
Buddha

Post by bethnor »

i'm not well known and don't know anything about it, per se, but my own recommendation would be it's past time to upgrade your paper and your photo skills. right now, your flickr gallery is like mine--not very attractive.