Help Me become an Expert ?

General discussion about Origami, Papers, Diagramming, ...
thangtamfive

Help Me become an Expert ?

Post by thangtamfive »

I'm not an Expert at Maths or understanding much about ( Circle-packing & Box-pleating ) but in the last few months and Years I would have used them in some models I have done but still ---- Instead of telling me about books that have to much information on about such things like ( Circle-packing and Box-pleating ) could someone please just let me know certain and specific things about ( Circle-packing and Box-pleating )

I want to know how a Origami Artist looks at something either it been a insect or bird or warrior or human form or anything like that.

I mean how do Origami Artists work out how to put Things they see in the real world or on tv on the internet how do they work out how to put a crease pattern of it on paper
Baltorigamist

Re: Help Me become an Expert ?

Post by Baltorigamist »

There are numerous topics on design, but unfortunately, the best information you'll get is in Origami Design Secrets (2nd Edition) by Robert Lang. It's expensive, but it's definitely worth the money.

As far as the basics you mentioned, I design a model by looking at the placement of each appendage on the subject. Then I assign a flap location to each appendage and work out the CP using either box-pleating or 22.5deg technique from there. Color-changing is a whole different animal (no pun intended), however, and the best way to learn that is to experiment by yourself.

Design is largely trial-and-error--just keep that in mind.
After the fall, we rise.

My Flickr
NeverCeaseToCrease
Forum Sensei

Post by NeverCeaseToCrease »

First, Welcome to the forum, thangtamfive!
Baltorigamist is right, ODS 2 is the best book you'll find, and the design process is mostly trial and error.

If you want a summary of the 700 page book, it works like this: