Making crease from point to edge

Need help with folding a model? Ask here.
Avatrin

Making crease from point to edge

Post by Avatrin »

Hi

I am new to origami and am trying to make this rose:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRGDLf1 ... =6&list=WL

The issue I am having starts around 2:16 when we are shown to make a crease from a given point to a point on the edge. I know where the crease has to be, but I am just not able to do that correctly (I always miss both points by at least a centimeter). Is there some trick to this? Or, just practice?
Andre-4

Re: Making crease from point to edge

Post by Andre-4 »

Avatrin wrote:Hi

I am new to origami and am trying to make this rose:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRGDLf1 ... =6&list=WL

The issue I am having starts around 2:16 when we are shown to make a crease from a given point to a point on the edge. I know where the crease has to be, but I am just not able to do that correctly (I always miss both points by at least a centimeter). Is there some trick to this? Or, just practice?
Do you have a larger screen?..it's really hard to follow tutorials on a any thing smaller than 6 x 4 ..You miss alot of details..even with diagrams literally having to squint to see what is going on.
I find with videos just press pause alot and use a screenshot app to capture the sleight of hand when they style on you..
Alot of experienced folders do this..when they skip 10 stages on the drawing because he already understands the action.
Avatrin

Post by Avatrin »

Well, I've watched the video on a big screen. Still, I do not know how to make that particular crease accurately; Every other crease in that tutorial exploits some geometric symmetry which makes it relatively easy for me to understand how to make it. That's not the case with that crease. So, I simply do not know how to proceed.
MotherOfThree

Post by MotherOfThree »