Robert J. Lang - Songbird 1

Need help with folding a model? Ask here.
earth

Robert J. Lang - Songbird 1

Post by earth »

Hi, I'm having trouble with step 13 of Robert Lang's Songbird 1 in Origami Design Secrets that i got hold of recently. I'm not good at interpreting textual instructions so if anyone could, I wouldn't mind any picture or video help. But any help would also be appreciated.
Cupcake
Buddha

Post by Cupcake »

I can't give you picture instructions because I don't have my camera at the moment, but I'll try to give some text instructions that you can understand :D ...

On step 13, if you open up the front, you will find that theres a little bit of paper stuck under the layers. That is really all the help I can give you, bbecause I don't really understand what you're having trouble with.
Ryan MacDonell
My Designs
earth

Post by earth »

I'm sorry that i didn't specify what my problem was ](*,) so i took some shots of how i did the step and collated them in a picture

[img]http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/6507/songbird1pt7.jpg[/img]

problem is, after i've released the excess, there is not more paper behind that can be seen like on the right. i hope you understand better now.
eric_son

Post by eric_son »

Hi earth,

Happy New Year!

If #1 of your image is already step 12, then you've got it wrong.
If you look at step 12 in the book, you should see that the top most flap should be connected. In your picture, they are apart. I think you got the model upside down.

When you made the bird base in Step 9, you may have applied the petal fold on the wrong flaps of the preliminary base. If you did Step 9 correctly, you should have gotten something like this:

Then when you do Step 10, if you get something like this...
...then you're on the right track.

Try retracing your progress to Step 9.

Good luck!

Eric
Cupcake
Buddha

Post by Cupcake »

Indeed, it seems you weren't looking at the right place :)
Ryan MacDonell
My Designs
earth

Post by earth »