Discussion - Monthly folding thread

Friendly design and folding competitions.
Fishgoth

Discussion - Monthly folding thread

Post by Fishgoth »

See

viewtopic.php?p=20591#20591

If you have any ideas, discussions or objections, please post them below!
I once set up an origami PLC. But the business folded.
Watusa

Post by Watusa »

woah! fishgoth! i used to fold your models all the time, when i was but a small origamiling. :) i especially liked the rabbit and rhino :D

unfortunately i am not an origami designer. but this contest looks really interesting, i'll be sure to keep an eye on it :)
origamimasterjared
Buddha

Post by origamimasterjared »

I like competitions.

At the moment I have one suggestion:

If you're going to allow multi-piece origami, the squares-only rule is moot. Please allow rectangles, or limit it to only one-square.

I'll write if I have more.
Cupcake
Buddha

Post by Cupcake »

I think that if the units of a multi piece model can only be squares, then there should not be the option of multi piece. Folding it out of only one square, nothing else, would maybe even make the challenge even more challenging! :D
Ryan MacDonell
My Designs
ahudson
Forum Sensei

Post by ahudson »

Thank you! This is an excellent idea, especially for those of us (like me) who are rather reluctant designers and rarely finish a piece. Contests also provide some healthy competition that keeps people intrested, both in the art of origami and in the forum.

I think rectangles are fine, it still allows a person to excercise creativity without going too far out of the strict rules of purism. From my point of view, the use of rectangles is just a prefrence that some designers have, just as some designers prefer foil and some prefer elephant hide.

I hope that helps, and that I'm not just stating the obvious. :-)
wolf
Forum Sensei

Post by wolf »