Robert J. Lang - Grasshopper (Complete Book)

Need help with folding a model? Ask here.
leo

Robert J. Lang - Grasshopper (Complete Book)

Post by leo »

Hi, all
I fold for some months now, so I'm a newbie.
Recently I bought Lang's Complete Book of Origami but I've stuck in the grasshopper's step 7. It is in the sink of the right corner. Whatever I did doesn't much with step 10 "sink the hidden point at the right".
I would appreciate any help or advice!
wolf
Forum Sensei

Post by wolf »

I'll throw in the standard advice: If you're stuck on a very early step in a Lang model, you probably should get more practice with easier models first. :)
MeadowMuffin

Post by MeadowMuffin »

I can understand why it's causing difficulties. When you make he sink in step 7, the top part of the sink is a V that wraps around a layer that runs horizontally. When you go to do the sink in step 10, you can sort of precrease it in half, but you're going to have to open the model a bit and use that hoizontal layer to shape the top the way it was in addtion to the sink.

I hope that helps.
Radiant_Howl2628

Post by Radiant_Howl2628 »

hey if anyone could help me with step 40 with the grasshopper from origami insects and their kin i would be very grateful =]
the modern einstein

Post by the modern einstein »

Further posts will come, once I have my book with me...
ahudson
Forum Sensei

Post by ahudson »

Radiant_Howl2628 wrote:hey if anyone could help me with step 40 with the grasshopper from origami insects and their kin i would be very grateful =]
Surely you mean step 41? Step 40 is pretty easy, just open the model a bit in preparation for the next step.

In step 41, you're basically doing a giant reverse-fold on the creases from step 36, while rabbit-earing the triangular areas on either side of it.
Ironmanlife

Re: Robert J. Lang - Grasshopper (Complete Book)

Post by Ironmanlife »

I am stuck on step 19 of Lang's grasshopper from the Complete Book.