Robert J. Lang - Lizard

Need help with folding a model? Ask here.
DanDaMan

Robert J. Lang - Lizard

Post by DanDaMan »

I cannot seem to figure out how to complete step 22. I have never done an open sink before (at least I don't think so). I looked it up and a website told me that it is just like making a waterbomb base inside the model. How exactly do I do that? Thank you in advance.
Programming, Ping Pong, and Juggling, Oh My!
Slinky + Escalator = Everlasting Fun
origamimasterjared
Buddha

Post by origamimasterjared »

I hope no website told you it's like making a waterbomb base. What's more likely is that they showed a waterbomb base as an example of something you could perform an open sink on. An open sink is a maneuver that totally inverts a flap (or portion of a flap). You can think of it like this: If a reverse-fold is a 1-dimensional inversion of a flap, an open sink is like a 2-dimensional version.

And just about every origami book of intermediate or higher difficulty shows how to make an open sink. Origami Design Secrets included.
DanDaMan

Post by DanDaMan »

"The open sink usually involves opening out the paper, and reversing creases to make a waterbomb base in the middle of the model." I hope this doesn't mean that Wikipedia lied to me.

Wow I'm an idiot for looking in up on Wikipedia and not even thinking to look it up in the beginning of the book. Now that I am looking at the open sink diagrams, I realize that I actually have done a lot of these. Mostly with models resembling the preliminary fold. I see the concept of what I have to do, but I just can't seem to get the fold to work. I'll keep trying though.
InsomniacFolder

Post by InsomniacFolder »

Way back in the mists of time when I first encountered these triangular sinks I was also flummoxed by them.
Until, that is, I just opened out the paper. You should then be able to see a continuous line formed by the precrease(s)forming a polygon inside the paper.
It is that area that needs to be sunk.