design problems

General discussion about Origami, Papers, Diagramming, ...
jamester055

design problems

Post by jamester055 »

hello everybody, i am new to designing and was wondering how people design origami. Just how do people use circle packing, and box pleating to make origami models. can you explain it to me. Just kidding :D I know you guys dont like those people. so any way,I have read origami design secrets and have come up with some pretty good crease patterns, such as my scorpion, it has circles rivers and everything, but is handrawn, it is not like those perfect crease patterns you would get on tree maker. know when i take a piece of paper to try and fold the model, i get lost. Where are all the guide lines? at what angles do i fold at that connect all my circles and get the right proportions. Is there a way robert langs program uses to find them all. or have i missed a part in one of odc chapters?
Baltorigamist

Re: design problems

Post by Baltorigamist »

Firstly, I think this topic belongs in General Origami Talk.

Secondly, it's really hard to help you without knowing the specific problem you're having. Is it reference points or something bigger?
It would also help to see one of your CPs as an example so we can tell where you may be going wrong. I assume you understand the basic principle of design--that each flap in the base takes up a certain amount of paper.

Ideally, with a circle-packed model, you find the reference points for the center of each circle and connect them using valley creases. (These are called the axial creases, and they lie along the model's line of symmetry, or LOS.) Then you figure out which type of molecule (rabbit-ear, gusset, or arrow) you need to fill each of the resulting polygons. (Those are the ridge creases.) If this is your problem, I suggest you reread those chapters of ODS, but I can paraphrase them for you: