An origami enquiry

General discussion about Origami, Papers, Diagramming, ...
varunsaikoruprolu

An origami enquiry

Post by varunsaikoruprolu »

Dear All,

Hope you’re doing well and keeping safe :)

Hello! I am Varun Sai Koruprolu from Hyderabad, India. I am a Second-year Undergraduate Product design student from the National Institute of Design, Ahmedabad. I am an Origami enthusiast and have been exploring it for a couple of years now.

This message is regarding my Design project at my college that I’ll be working on for the next 6-8 weeks. I am broadly focusing on Origami as my domain. The brief I chose is to make a simple tool that can help origami artists during the process of folding which would not involve any technology. It’s going to be a simple product that can be used by anyone (aiming for a low-budget product). I’d be grateful if you could help me with it. I intend to contribute something to the beautiful community we have :)

These are some questions that would help my research at this phase of my project:

What would that one phase or step of folding you would want to omit or think is redundant?
Referring to my question 1; Do you think that one particular step affects your physical self or inhibit you from creating and experimenting more? If yes, what do you do in that situation?
Are there any tools that already exist in the market that I am not aware of (apart from the Bone folder and other basic tools)? If yes, please do share them with me.
Referring to question 3; Do you think the existing tools are enough or would you want more?

If you own a Vinyl cutter/Cricut/Plotter,
What other features would you want your device to perform?
& What do people who do not own a machine generally do to perform similar tasks as the machines do?

Waiting for your reply. Hoping to keep in touch with you during the course of this project and post that as well :)