Most frustrating fold ?

General discussion about Origami, Papers, Diagramming, ...
PaperMate

Most frustrating fold ?

Post by PaperMate »

Hi,

I've recently joined the Forum and I'm new to Origami too; which means that EVERYTHING's a challenge and even the simplest of models offer some degree of satisfaction upon completion.
Anyway 3 little questions for y'all :

1.. First model folded ? (surely everyone remembers their first)
2.. Most frustrating model folded/attempted ? :x
3.. Which of the forum's members has been folding the longest ?
(Come on own up ! Liars need not apply)

PS Did anyone gather results for favourite model and come up with an overall favourite, statistically ? Just curious :?:
TheRealChris

Post by TheRealChris »

hi,

1. the flapping bird (of course *g*)
2. too many to count :)
3. around 6 years. hard to answer, because I stopped folding for a couple of years when I was younger.

greetings

Christian
Joe the white

Post by Joe the white »

Hello,

1.My Swan
2.Robert Lang's butterfly, I tried it out of kami on my first try a few years back and failed on the sinks, I tried again with foil wrapping paper and succeeded.
3.about 9 years

Usually the Kawasaki Rose is the most popular and on the majority of origamists favorite models list somewhere.
gilad_zn

Post by gilad_zn »

1) I'm really not sure. There are so many "origami" models that aren't considered, well, "origami", at first. I guess the classic paper airplane was one of the first. Also the classic boat from a newspaper, the instruction to which I read in the book "Curious George Rides a Bike".

2) Lang's butterfly, also. It heads my list of "Origami Models from Hell". Unlike Joe the White, I folded it from kami, and later failed with tissue-foil.

3) Hmm... I started folding 13 years ago, but from around 11 years ago to about last year I didn't fold much. Maybe you should ask how many folding hours we have :wink:
Cheers!
Gilad Naor
https://blog.giladnaor.com
OrigamiMagiro
Forum Sensei