Paper

General discussion about Origami, Papers, Diagramming, ...
platypusguy

Paper

Post by platypusguy »

I am looking for a website where I can find some good, high quality paper. I am especially looking for tissue-foil and elephant hide.

Thanks!!!!!!!
platypusguy

Post by platypusguy »

oh almost forgot, i was also wondering how to make tissue foil. i am just getting into making a lot of my own models and paper but need to know how to buy or make tissue foil.
FunkeeFolder

Post by FunkeeFolder »

Well you can't buy tissue foil so you have to make it. Pretty much you need two sheets of tissue (kraft paper, mulberry paper, ect.) and some light duty foil. Next you need a cutting mat, a cutting utensil, a straight edge, and some spray adhesive.
Put a table OUTSIDE (can't stress this enough!) with some newspaper on it, now put down a sheet of foil (cut so it's bigger than the sheet of tissue) and spray it (with the spary adhesive obviously) about 5 inches (about 13 cm) away from the foil. Now once that's done wait for a couple of seconds then line up one edge of the tissue with the straightest edge of the foil. (this is tricky good luck :) ) Once you got it the straightest you can slowly press the tissue away from you onto the foil (try not to get creases amd bubbles in it) until you have pressed it tottaly onto the foil! (Now do a happy dance :D/ )

We are now going to make a second straight edge so that the second piece of tissue is aligned right! (am I confusing you yet?) Put the straight edge ( it is now known as a ruler for ease of talking) on the right side of the straight edge(the paper). Put the ruler so that it is on the tissue not the foil, now when it it perfectly aligned with the edge cut the foil (I find one stroke from the middle up then one stroke from the middle down works.) Now if you want repeat on the other side and the top, but I usally leave these so that if you mess up a little you have some leeway!