Origami rage stories

Place all non-origami related posts in here; films, food, your life etc.
Sroge4

Origami rage stories

Post by Sroge4 »

Anyone here have anything (preferably to do with origami, but they can be about anything) that really makes you mad?

Here's an example: Whenever I tell people I do origami, they say "Oh yeah! I'm AMAZING at origami! Here, I can fold a crane!" Ugh. This happens so many times.

Also, here's a review on Amazon for Jun Maekawa's book:

"i bought this for y 16 year old that can make up origami stuff he can do anything wwith origami but when we but this bk he culdnt do nothing with he lked inside and was like this book was too hard for me and hes a 16 year old tht is a master at origami this book is awfull."

I really hope this person isn't serious.
fncll

Re: Origami rage stories

Post by fncll »

As a struggling beginner, I suffer from origami rage occasionally, like when I finally got a nice-looking Phizz unit bucky-ball made with proper color pattern and someone picked it up off my desk and simultaneously asked "did you glue this together?" and pulled it apart right in front of me.

And since you mentioned Maekawa (I love his book... wish he would do more), after my 10th try to get the sink right in the giraffe model in his book and finally the paper became too soft too fold from my monkey-pawed machinations... and it's only the 4th model in the book!
gachepapier
Forum Sensei

Post by gachepapier »

There's always the "oh you do this with your kindergarden kid"-question/insinuation by the visiting ignoramus pointing at your Kamiya Mammuth or your latest design... Yep. 'Cause I can't do it myself, but my kids are teaching me...
mes p'tits plis (now also in English)
Ondrej.Cibulka
Buddha

Post by Ondrej.Cibulka »