Need paper advice

General discussion area for learning about paper, and the different types available.
Can Cebeci

Need paper advice

Post by Can Cebeci »

The only paper I worked with is tissue foil from Terry's origami shop but I'm not really satisfied with it. I am not that experienced though so I will ask for your paper suggestions. That tissue foil is too thick so it is not good for folding box pleated models. For example I tried to fold Hongyi Wan's flygon (56x56) but i couldn't shape it and it started tearing since it was too thick. And not only the box pleated ones. When I folded the Ancient Dragon its legs were not holding the shape. They were like /^\ when I wanted them to be like I^I . Also, when i use tissue foil I can't make arm or legs hold the position i want them to.Would homemade tissue foil work better? I'm not insisting on using tissue foil though. I just want a paper which holds the shape and is not too thick. What would you choose to fold Ancient Dragon or Bahamut? And what would you choose to fold box pleated models? I have never tried MC shaping either. Would that solve my problems? Or is there a better online shop where I can get better paper? Last question: I will try to fold ryujin 2.1 when i have enough time. Which paper should I choose for that one?

I'm sorry for askıng too many questions but ı really need some help :?
origami_8
Administrator

Re: Need paper advice

Post by origami_8 »

Home made tissue foil has completely different properties then the stuff that is sold as tissue foil. You may be able to solve your problem with it. You can try to fix the dragon you folded with a thick solution of MC. Just be aware that you have to keep it in form until it is completely dry, be it with strings, wire, clamps or whatever.
You can also try to use the foil paper that Nicolas Terry sells instead of the tissue foil paper.