Help with Beetle

Need help with folding a model? Ask here.
Vida

Help with Beetle

Post by Vida »

Hi, i'm trying to make an origami beetle (preferably not too complicated as i'm no expert!) and i found this design:

http://home.no.net/origami/beetle1.htm

I'm really stuck at the beginning of the second page though, could anyone help? Or point me in the direction of alternative beetle designs?

Thanks!
Daydreamer

Post by Daydreamer »

At which step are you having troubles exactly?
So long and keep folding ^_^
Gerwin
Vida

Post by Vida »

um... well, from the first step of the second page (10) as i'm not sure i'm doing it right!
I carried onto step 12 but then really got stuck as i'm not convinced of what i was doing...
Sorry about the vagueness!!!
Daydreamer

Post by Daydreamer »

I've made a video of steps 10 - 12. Hope it helps.
Some notes:
The reverse folds in step 10 are on existing creases.
For steps 11 and 12 you will have to make most of the creases. (I cheated in the video by premaking those folds in order to make the video shorter and smoother :roll: )

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/iZq-G0JGUUU" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350"></embed>
Gerwin
Vida

Post by Vida »

Thank you so much for the video!
that was extremely helpful, i realise i was making a small mistake in step 12...
I will start again tomorrow and see how it goes, i have a feeling i might get stuck again judging by the next steps, but hopefully i will be able to get to the end on my own now :)

thanks again!
origamiphreak

Post by origamiphreak »

I like this beetle a quick fold.
you can make a half decient spider out of it if you step # 14 twice. The legs coume out a bit stumpy so it looks like a taranchula.
Daydreamer

Post by Daydreamer »

Yes, the base for this beetle is very versatile because you get 12 flaps with about the same length and thickness rather easily. And the flaps aren't really that thick (i.e. they don't have many layers) either.