The Great Swanny by Maarten van Gelder - Help

Need help with folding a model? Ask here.
Jillefsky

The Great Swanny by Maarten van Gelder - Help

Post by Jillefsky »

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new in Origami. In fact I only stated folding a couple days ago. I started with a tradicional swan, and it went well, but was I hoping for something more demanding.
I came across origami.com, and I found the Great Swanny, and I imeddiately fell for it and I wanted to offer it to my girlfriend. It seems so great. The only downside is that I find it too hard, and I really don't know how to acomplish it. Could any of you guys help me with it, specially with the pictures explanation, since I really don't get most of the arrows. I would be extremely grateful.

Here's the link to the diagram: http://dev.origami.com/diagram_load.cfm ... =zwaan.pdf

And I found this site, which has the same swan in 3D pictures : http://www.turbosquid.com/FullPreview/I ... /ID/268757

Thanks a lot for your attention
thut

Post by thut »

Where are you having trouble?
Jillefsky

Post by Jillefsky »

First of all, thanks for your reply.

Well right at the beggining. Since I'm not used to these diagrams, I have a certain dificulty to capture what the picture means. The 1st 2 pictures are easy to understand. Then in picture 3, I don't quite understand what the arrow means. Then in picture 4 is like we have a total new paper. The fifth picture is like no matter how hard I try I just can't figure it out. If you could have the time to explain me these 3/4 steps, maybe I can get the hang of it, and perhaps being able to finish it.
Just another question, do you think this is a figure that can be acomplished by a newcomer in Origami like myself?

Thanks again
thut

Post by thut »

The arrow in step 3 means that you only pinch where indicated, and in step 4 the earlier creases have been omitted for clarity. In step 5 you collapse the paper using the creases shown to form step 6.