Big Totoro v2 by Michelle Fung

Need help with folding a model? Ask here.
wonton

Big Totoro v2 by Michelle Fung

Post by wonton »

Hi,

After struggling with the Nekobus by Brian Chan I'm trying with some other CPs from the movie "My Neighbor Totoro".

This time I'm trying with this Totoro by Michelle Fung:

http://www.michellefung.net/origami/big ... odelviewer

Well, I don't know where to start. Is there any basic fold in the CP to start with? The main reference points?
I should add that I've tried to contact the author without success :-S.

I must confess that I'm not too good with CP even trying with the more basic models, so I don't know if this model is beyond my capabilities even with your help ;-).

Thank you!
NeverCeaseToCrease
Forum Sensei

Re: Big Totoro v2 by Michelle Fung

Post by NeverCeaseToCrease »

I know shuki Kato has a pretty good Totoro too. I think he also made a video tutorial of him folding it, which you can find on YouTube.
Sorry I can't help much with Michelle's crease pattern.
wonton

Post by wonton »

Thank you NeverCeaseToCrease!

I like Michelles' model more because it has much more detail, but the one you posted seems very easy so I'll try this too. At least I would have a Totoro folded ;-).

Thank you again!
Kabuntan

Post by Kabuntan »

If it is a Totoro model more than a CP challenge you are looking for, an easy and cute one is Robin Glynn's model. You can find the diagram on Joseph Wu's website.
wonton

Post by wonton »

I already knew that model. I was looking for a complex model of Totoro because it's a present and I would like it was as similar as the one of the movie.

But thank you very much anyway :-)!
FlareglooM

Post by FlareglooM »

As for reference points, those seem to be based on thirds.

- The center of the bird base (black square) on the top left quadrant, lies on 1/3. To fold, see the red lines.