Robert Langs Water Strider, opus 472

Need help with folding a model? Ask here.
Jonathan

Robert Langs Water Strider, opus 472

Post by Jonathan »

Hi, i was hoping someone could help me with the crease pattern for Robert Langs Water Strider

http://www.langorigami.com/art/gallery/ ... er_strider

This is my first attempt at crease patterns, but after checking out his website I fell inlove with this. So i was hoping someone could please help me with it.
Max

Post by Max »

Well, ok...

First, this is a box-pleated cp. That means it has an underlying grid structure you have to find out and fold first.
See it?

I think it could be 34x34, but i have got no ruler right now, so i'm not 100% sure.

Second, you have to find the reference points that define the main creases. In easyer cps like this one its mostly possible to find them without additional software. However you could try out Robert Langs "Reference Finder" it's downloadable on his homepage. To me puzzeling out the reference points is the first "riddle" sometimes its hard, but after i found every point i am as satisfied like after having collapsed the base :p

When you have all the points and creases collapse the cp as indicated. In most cases the first creases (seen from the edge of the paper) are mountain folds. In this cp you are lucky. Lang marked valley/mountain folds.

After collapsing you've got the base. depending on the design you will have some work to do from here. that means stretching legs appart and shaping. i think in langs designs its mostly shaping. the number of steps after the base depend on the designer....

enjoy your water strider...
good luck chuck ;-)

max
Jonathan

Post by Jonathan »