New member from Finland.

New to the Forum? Introduce yourself here!
Petri

New member from Finland.

Post by Petri »

Hi!

I'm new to this origami building.
I have been always fascinated with Japanese culture and I have watched lots of anime, read some manga, love Japanese food and listened to J-rock (in my teen years).
I have known about origami for years and thought that it's ludicrously difficult. But then we had visitors from Japan in our workplace and they brought us some origami paper arcs and instructions and I had a blast doing few.
Now I bought ORIGAMI Super Stack (origami paper) from my local store and I will begin my journey to master this art.
I also going to make a YouTube channel for my progress and maybe other people will be interested in it too.

I already have a quick question. Are origami books relevant anymore? You can find almost every model on YouTube and video instructions always seem to be better than just pictures.

I'm excited about being part of this forum and try to contribute. Hopefully same time next year I know much more about origamis.

Petri
Baltorigamist

Re: New member from Finland.

Post by Baltorigamist »

Welcome to the forum! :)
After the fall, we rise.

My Flickr
Grace159

Post by Grace159 »

Hello and have fun :)
Splunge

Post by Splunge »

Petri wrote: I already have a quick question. Are origami books relevant anymore? You can find almost every model on YouTube and video instructions always seem to be better than just pictures.
For me Origami books still have a big relevance. I find it difficult to follow a video instruction while folding at the same tine. You constantly have to pause the video, maybe rewind a few seconds etc.
In most cases I find the printed instructions sufficient. In rare cases, if I should get stuck for a longer time, I have a look at video instructions, if any are available.

Apart from that most origami instruction videos probably don't have the permission from the designer.