Page 1 of 2

Komatsu Lion CP

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2005, 2:51 am
by alex
Hello,

Wishes and greetings to all members of the forum. Can anyone help me with a good CP of the Komatsu Lion?

with regards,
Alex

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2005, 3:14 am
by Brimstone
What's wrong with the one on his web page http://www.origami.gr.jp/~komatsu/gallery/lion.html ?

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2005, 3:19 am
by alex
It is too small for a print.

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2005, 3:31 am
by wolf
Cut and paste it into any vector graphics program, trace out the lines yourself and then expand the reconstructed CP to whatever size you want.

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2005, 3:57 am
by Brimstone
alex wrote:It is too small for a print.
Save the file to your PC. Open anew document in word. Make the margins of your new document the minimum they can be. Insert the image. Press shift and then drag one of the corners until the image reaches the maximum size of your page.

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2005, 5:25 am
by alex
I didn't ask the methods to draw the CP. Even myself verywell know how to enlarge the picture as well as traceout the lines. But requested someone to send me the CP so that I can readily take print. If someone can, post a link.

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2005, 12:16 pm
by esato
wolf wrote:Cut and paste it into any vector graphics program, trace out the lines yourself and then expand the reconstructed CP to whatever size you want.


Wolf, what vector graphics do you use? The one you use can help one find landmarks?

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2005, 12:54 pm
by origami_8
A little search on this Forum (Yes, we have a search function, look up to the top of the page!) shows you that there allready is a topic about Komatsu´s lion. On page two of this topic you not only find the link to a better cp, but also a detailed guide of how to find the landmarks and further help to collapse the base. (Look what Brimstone wrote.)
By the way don´t open up new topics if we allready have one to the same theme.

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2005, 1:21 pm
by alex
Thanks Anna. I got the CP from my friend this afternoon. He gave a printout which is approximately 43 cms square.

I request the Forum Manager to lock this topic.

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2005, 1:44 pm
by origami_8
I don´t take requests.
And I won´t lock topics only because a member is thinking he´s got what he wanted. Esato´s question isn´t answered yet. It is the moderators' choice if a topic should be locked or not, not yours.

PostPosted: November 23rd, 2005, 2:13 pm
by wolf
esato wrote:Wolf, what vector graphics do you use? The one you use can help one find landmarks?

I mostly use CadStd Lite for CPs - it's freeware and you can get it from http://www.cadstd.com. It's got the usual things - grid snapping, snapping to angles, tangents and midpoints, as well as a handy bunch of distance measurement tools.

Otherwise, the other software I use is Canvas. It's commercial but you can get earlier versions cheaply at eBay, or used software stores. In some ways, it's a bit more limited than CAD programs, because of the lack of flexible snapping functions (well, maybe the latest version now has them). However, it's much easier to draw full diagrams with Canvas.

PostPosted: November 25th, 2005, 11:16 pm
by esato
wolf wrote:Cut and paste it into any vector graphics program, trace out the lines yourself and then expand the reconstructed CP to whatever size you want.


I´ve downloaded and installed cadstd. Is it possible to do that in cadstd? I am trying to paste a CP to do just that, but with no success.

PostPosted: November 26th, 2005, 12:45 am
by wolf
esato wrote:Is it possible to do that in cadstd? I am trying to paste a CP to do just that, but with no success.

No, CadStd just allows you to draw structures (like CP) from scratch, but doesn't support pasting of graphics.

PostPosted: November 26th, 2005, 1:14 am
by esato
wolf wrote:
esato wrote:Is it possible to do that in cadstd? I am trying to paste a CP to do just that, but with no success.

No, CadStd just allows you to draw structures (like CP) from scratch, but doesn't support pasting of graphics.


hmmm... What tool do you use to measure angles, creases then?

PostPosted: November 26th, 2005, 3:50 am
by wolf
A ruler and protractor. :)

What I normally do is to redraw the CP using CadStd, reconstructing the creases rather than trace out the lines from the original CP. I measure off some of the major angles and lines, then use that as a starting point for the reconstructed CP.